ARC Review: I Am Write by Benet Stoen

Title: I Am Write by Benét Stoen

Published: April 2, 2019 by Benet Stoen (self published)

Links: Amazon | Goodreads

Rating: 4/5 stars

Synopsis

{from Goodreads and Amazon}

Fans of Elizabeth Gilbert’s BIG MAGIC and Jen Sincero’s YOU ARE A BADASS will devour this new, personal take on how mindset separates the best from the rest.

Are you ready to start taking your writer life to the next level? Do you feel held back, but don’t know why?
Author Benét Stoen’s I AM WRITE is a short, easy to digest guide to identifying the five biggest ways writers, often unconsciously, sabotage their dreams with unhealthy mindsets and limiting beliefs about themselves, their work, and the world. With real-life examples and exercises to help implement your findings, I AM WRITE is the book by a writer, for writers, and may just answer every writer’s biggest question: Am I a writer?

Review

I always enjoy Benet’s books but I had no idea that she could write nonfiction like this! Lately I’ve been really interested in self-help and overall motivational books so this was a great addition to my budding library in that genre. This included techniques and practices for writers to help them gain confidence and find direction in their career, which I absolutely enjoyed.

The writing was conversational rather than scolding or too authoritative, a tone that I love in nonfiction. When I read a book, I don’t want to feel like I’m being yelled at. Instead, Benét used personal examples and compelling arguments to try and help you overcome your biggest obstacle: yourself.

This is a very short book and I sincerely wish there was at least twenty pages more. I know Benet could have filled up that space with valuable information and examples—hopefully we’ll see an expanded version in the future! However short it is, this does pack a punch and is definitely worth a read.

Note: I did receive an ARC of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. This in no way effects my feelings for the book.

Quotes

“We don’t reach for things we don’t think are there.”

“You’re a writer? Prove it.”

“Clearly set goals are the only goals you can achieve, because you know where you have achieved them or not!”

Follow the author:

Instagram | Goodreads | Blog

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s